My Favourite Beauty Products for Fair Skin

I have fair skin, like the fairest of the fair. Even when I have a tan, people still comment on how pale I am – I am THAT fair. In my teens, I used to experiment with various fake tans to try and conform to that bronzed skin ideal, but to be honest, the constant upkeep was too much for a lazy girl like me, so I decided to embrace my fair skin, and to choose clothes and makeup that compliment my skin colour.

With fair skin, comes the ever lasting search for beauty products that are light enough to match my skin, of which there seem to be very few. Over the years, I’ve been through so many different brands, but have found it near impossible to find a foundation that matches my face and doesn’t leave me looking orange.

But praise the lord, I seem to have finally stumbled onto a few products that match my skin tone, so I thought I should share them with you, so that you too, can solve your fair skin issues.

NARS Sheer Glow in Mont Blanc Light 2

I took the plunge and purchased a bottle of NARS Sheer Glow, and I’m so happy I did. This had been highly recommended to me by my fair skin friends, and I’d also seen it mentioned a lot on Youtube. It is a little more than I like to spend on makeup, at about $70 NZD a bottle, plus an extra $5 if you want the pump lid. With foundation though, I don’t mind spending a little bit more, because it really is the base of the face, and if it looks good, then I will feel good. It’s a light coverage, which is good for me as I don’t really like looking like I have a lot of makeup on. It’s super buildable though, which works for those days when I want a bit of extra coverage.

The most important thing though, is that it actually matches my skin tone, which is no simple task. I got the shade Mont Blanc, which is one of the six “light” shades available. This one is number 2 in the light range, and is described as having pink undertones. With six light shades available, all with varying undertones, it’s likely that you’ll be able to find one that matches your skin tone perfectly.

nars2017

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Fair 1

Much like my ongoing search for the perfect foundation, I have had similar struggles with concealer. I find it impossible to find the right shade, that also offers enough coverage and actually stays on. I did stumble onto a good thing with Benefit Boing concealer, and purchased this a couple of times, but I don’t love it enough to keep paying the $40 price tag, when there might be something just as good, for a lower price out there. After hearing about the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer from various beauty bloggers, I thought it couldn’t hurt to give this a go, especially considering I walk past the Collection stand at my local supermarket regularly.  It has great coverage, the fair 1 shade matches my skin perfectly, and it actually seems to last the day. With my Boing concealer, I was often touching up throughout the day, but not with this one! And it is so affordable, at about $15 NZD a pop.

collection2017

NYX Stay Matte But Not Flat Powder Foundation in Ivory

I’m not going to say this is my favourite powder of all time, but in terms of matching my skin tone, it does a good job. It is a good price at less than $20 NZD, so I will probably continue to purchase this for the time being. I have tried ones that I like more, such as the Estee Lauder Double Wear, but there’s a huge price difference, so for now, I’ll stick with NYX.

nyx-powder

The Balm Cindy-Lou Manizer Highlighter

Although I have fully embraced my fair skin, it’s nice to add a bit of glow and dimension to my face, which is where blushes, bronzers and highlighters come in. My usual approach to adding colour to my face has been to sweep a little bit of blush on my cheeks, usually a warm pink shade, as this seems to work best for my skin tone. However, I recently purchased The Balm Cindy-Lou Manizer Highlighter, without quite knowing what it was. I picked this up for $5 at a makeup clearance sale, and thought it looked interesting, but knew nothing about the brand or the product. I googled it when I got home, to find out that it usually retails for anywhere between $40 and $50 NZD. If I’d known how much I was going to love this, I would have stocked up! I’ve seen this described as a pinky-peach blush that can be used as a blush, eyeshadow and highlight. I love products that do it all. This has been an amazing addition to my makeup routine, as it adds a natural bit of colour to my cheeks, and I sometimes use it as an eyeshadow when I’m wanting to brighten up eyes a bit, on a natural makeup day.

gallery_1_cindylou_1024x1024

These are the main products I use regularly, I’d love to know what other products people recommend for fair skin. What products do you use?

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Beauty Products for Fair Skin

    • This Girl In Her Twenties says:

      Everything is too dark for me too, so stoked to find one that actually matches my face! Hope this foundation is as good for you as it is for me 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

