Guide To Goal Setting

In the last few months I’ve been making a real effort to get serious about setting achievable goals. I feel like I’ve spent a lot of time over the last few years thinking about where I see my life going, without feeling like I’ve made any real progress. So, after making this decision to make a conscious effort towards my goals, I’ve actually made some real, tangible progress. Below are a few steps I’ve taken to become more clear about my goals:

I wrote my goals down

This is such a simple task, but I can’t tell you how valuable this has been. Having my goals written down somehow makes me feel more of a commitment to them, and makes me feel like I have more of a clear focus. It’s even been scientifically proven that those who write their goals down are more likely to achieve their goals than those who don’t.

I talked to a friend

A friend and I recently decided to become accountability buddies, which basically means we talk to each other about our goals and check in with each other from time to time to see how we are going. ย Talking to someone about what you’re working towards somehow makes you feel more accountable, but also gives you that support you need to keep working towards your goals.

Attended a goal setting workshop

Kikki K does these awesome Goals workshops (and many others). I went along with a friend, where we were given a beautiful Goals journal, and were encouraged to think about our core values, our goals, and working towards these. This was a really worthwhile workshop, and if you are struggling with goal setting, or just looking for a bit of inspiration, I would totally recommend going along if you have a Kikki K near you. Plus there is wine ๐Ÿท

Set up a vision board

I haven’t actually done this yet, but as soon as I have a free weekend at home, I’m going to get started on this little project. Apparently this is a really great way to stay on track with your goals. They also just look really pretty and will be a fun DIY project.

I’m happy to say that by just doing the few simple things above, I have so much more clarity on my goals for the next few years, and am have already made so much progress in the space of a couple of months.

So that’s a little update on what I’ve been working on lately. If any of you out there have some handy tips on achieving your goals, please let me know in the comments!

img_1935-1

Leave a Reply

