Cooking time: Strawberry and vanilla chia seed jam

I am totally not a morning person. I struggle to wake up every single day. One of the things that makes my morning that little better though, is having a yummy (and easy to make) breakfast to look forward to. I’ve spent many the hour on Pinterest, googling recipes, and experimenting with various ingredients.   

My latest experiment has been chia seed jam. I thought this would make a nice topping for my breakfast oats, or could be simply used as a jam on my toast – a much more healthy alternative to the one I buy from the supermarket, and I know exactly what is in it. 

I used this recipe to get me started. 

Last night’s concoction is my favourite by far, a strawberry and vanilla creation. This is what I put in it:

  • 1.5 cups of frozen strawberries
  • A dash of water
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • A dash of vanilla essence (1 teaspoon would do)
  • A squirt of honey (about one tablespoon worth)
  • Two tablespoons of chiaseeds 

I can’t give you very exact measurements for some of the ingredients because I just kind of prefer to chuck things in to taste (some might call it laziness). You can find the instructions on how to cook at the link above. I found it useful to add a dash of water (about one tablespoon would do) to stop the fruit from burning while cooking. 

This stuff turned out to be absolutely delightful. So far in the last twenty four hours, I have eaten it on toast, with my oats and over ice cream. So versatile, so tasty and so healthy.

What’s is your favorite breakfast creation? Have you made chia seed jam before?

One thought on “Cooking time: Strawberry and vanilla chia seed jam

Leave a Reply

