I Left My Heart in New York City

When you travel, you gather a lot of memories, stories, trinkets and new friends along the way.

Some places you will love, and some places you won’t want to rush back to. But there will be those few places that keep your heart long after you leave, as cliche as that may sound. The ones that you’ll long to go back to, and that you’ll return to time and time again.

It’s pretty easy for me to name my favorite three places that I have visited (so far):

1. New York City, USA

NYC had always been top of my bucket list. The art, the shopping, the music, the landmarks where Gossip Girl was filmed. So when I booked myself a tour on the west coast of the USA, I just knew I had to fly across the country to NYC while I was on that side of the world. It would have been rude not to.

Within the first day of my trip, I fell in love with New York City, and now when people ask me where my favorite place is, I absolutely always, without a doubt, say New York City. Why? Maybe it was the shopping, the Broadway shows, or the world famous museums that I had always dreamed of visiting. It was probably a little bit of all of these things. All I know is that NYC worked its magic on me in a big way. And I cannot wait to get back there.

Β 2. Prague, Czech Republic

Prague is one of those places I knew little about before visiting, and to be honest, if it hadn’t been a stop on the organised bus tour I was on, I may not have even made it there.

But I am so happy I did. It is the most beautiful place with amazing castles, churches and cobblestone streets. I spent my days there walking the streets drinking coffee, admiring the buildings, and drinking hot wine at the Christmas markets with great company. When I think back on my time in Europe, I always remember my time in Prague as the best time.

Like NYC, it was absolutely magical, and I would go back in a heartbeat.

3. Melbourne, Australia

Every time I go back to Melbourne, I fall in love with it a little more. Fortunately for me, this city is just a four hour flight across the Tasman, and a perfect long weekend destination. I posted about my most recent trip there here.

It’s cool and quirky, with amazing food, coffee, shopping and street art. The art galleries are fantastic, the beaches are beautiful, and the city just radiates good vibes. I have been there a handful of times in the last few years, and I never ever get bored. I’m already keeping an eye out on cheap flight deals so that I can plan my next trip over.

So there you have it, the three places in this world that I love most of all. Do you agree with these? Where are your most favorite places?

One thought on “I Left My Heart in New York City

Leave a Reply

