Latest Beauty Purchases – First Impressions

I’ve bought a few beauty and hair products over the last few weeks, so I thought it was about time I did another first impressions post. I grabbed the NYX products from a pop up sale on Once It, and picked up the hair products at an annual pop up sale, which was conveniently located just down the road from my office – the perfect Friday lunch activity.

NYX – Photo-Loving Primer

This is lavender in the tube, but appears colourless on your face. This shade is designed to brighten the skin. It is also available in a green shade which hides redness, and a clear one which covers the pores. I was amazed by how smooth it made my skin feel. I wore it under a foundation that tends to go patchy after a few hours of wear, and I was amazed to see that when used with this NYX primer, it lasted for a lot longer. So far, I’m super happy with this purchase, especially considering I only paid $14.95 NZD. It is just as good as the more expensive primers I have purchased in the past.

NYX Mineral Stick Foundation – Fair

This is the first time I have used a stick foundation, and I had to YouTube how to apply it. The first layer offered a light coverage, but it’s really build-able which means it can be as light or as heavy as you like. I’d say it is more creamy then matte. So far, I’m quite liking it, but I’d need to wear it for a full day before I can really make a decision on it. This only cost me $9.95 which is probably the most affordable foundation I have ever purchased.

NYX Stay Matte But Not Flat Powder – Porcelain

This comes in a round black compact, with a decent sized mirror. It has a  nice, flawless matte finish, with really good coverage.  I have been using the Maybelline Fit Me powder religiously for the last few years, but thought I would branch out and try something new, and I’m happy I did. I can definitely see myself repurchasing this, especially for $17.95 NZD.

NYX Baked Blush – 06 Wanderlust

I had expected this to be a little more pink, but it is actually a very peachy shade. That’s ok though, I don’t currently have a peach blush, so it’s nice to try something different. This is highly pigmented, and you don’t need to put too much on the brush. It’s also not too powdery – some of my blushes in the past have been super powdery and they go everywhere. It was $12.95 NZD.

Kevin Murphy Body Builder Volumising Mousse

I picked this up at a hair care sale recently. I don’t typically use a lot of product in my hair, because it is super thick and quite long, and I just find it easier to kind of let it do it’s thing naturally. But I thought I’d give this a go for those times when I want to add a bit of extra style. The first time I used it, I massaged a few pumps into my hair and it added a lot of texture and volume. The next time, I just used one pump and it gave it a little more height without feeling like it was full of product.  I think this stuff is going to be really useful when it comes to creating big voluminous waves.

Revlon Professional Equave – Hydro Nutritive Detangling Conditioner

This was the other item I purchased at the hair care sale. I thought this might be good for those days when I haven’t washed my hair and its needs a bit of extra shine. This definitely adds a little bit of extra shine, and it smells great – all good things in my books!

So that is all that I have bought lately. You can find all the NYX products on the NYX Cosmetics website, and the hair products can be picked up online too. What have you bought recently that you are loving?

2 thoughts on “Latest Beauty Purchases – First Impressions

    • This Girl In Her Twenties says:

      I’m loving NYX too! It’s only recently become available in NZ so it’s a completely new brand to me. Absolutely loving the primer, it’s so smooth on the skin. I think I’ll try the anti redness one next time if I can get my hands on it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

