Baking Cookies and Learning Life Lessons

Tonight I decided to bake some cookies. Now the last time I baked would have been a good few years ago. Mostly this is because my house was not equipped with the necessities of baking, but also, I just find it kind of stressful. But, I felt like doing something productive tonight. And if I’m honest, I kinda had this idea that I would end up with these beautiful Pinterest worthy cookies that I could post about on the blog.

As I mixed the ingredients together, I was feeling quite proud of myself. “I should do this more often”, I thought.

As I progressed though, I realized it really wasn’t working out. The mixture wasn’t looking like a cookie mixture should. I put extra butter in, mixed it for a million hours, and still nothing worked. I was all prepared to give up, when I realized that I’d forgotten to add the egg in. Yes, I forgot the egg. Such a failure.

But ya know what, it wasn’t too late. I chucked that egg in the mixture at the very last minute, and although the whole process took about an hour longer than it should have, and left my kitchen in a mess, they still tasted pretty good, and the flatmates enjoyed them.

So what did I learn? I’m not sure really. Maybe that we all make silly mistakes sometimes, but if we keep ploughing on, we will get there in the end?

Although I admit the cookies weren’t a complete disaster, they do not look Pinterest worthy, soooo I won’t be posting a picture. Here are some pictures of what I had hoped they would look like, so just imagine that they look like that.

Anyway, that was my Monday night misadventure. Off to bed for me.

 

 

One thought on “Baking Cookies and Learning Life Lessons

  1. Pingback: Surviving Winter

Leave a Reply

